Because such a change results in de-registering your Signal accounts, attackers prepared people for this by telling them that being de-registered was intended behavior, and that all they would need to do is “re-register,” or, create a new account. When they moved to create a new Signal account — one that was now decoupled from their hijacked account — the victims thought they were logging back in to their primary account. 5/
XFEDI
ActivityPubConversation
As a result, many didn't notice the takeover. The compromised accounts were then weaponized to target the victims' contact lists by posing as the owners of the account. 6/